Pounding 7’s: The 1982 Power Rankings

Welcome back wrestling folks to Pounding 7’s. This week we continue our series on the Power Rankings for the 1980’s. We are at 1982. This week, will Bob Backlund make it three years in a row at being number one? Or, will someone dethrone him at the top? Let’s find out right now!

Honorable Mention

Jerry Lawler

Lawler was a mainstay in the Memphis organization, where he was the Memphis World Champion. His biggest deal of 82 was his featured feud with Andy Kauffman.

Harley Race

7. Carlos Calon

Carlos Calon was the WWC Universal Heavyweight Champion throughout the year of 1982, now that in itself is not a really known title. However, Calon was one of the most successful wrestlers all around the world, especially in Puerto Rico during his run. He would also challenge for Ric Flair’s World Championship in the NWA.

6. Wahoo McDaniel

Wahoo McDaniel makes the cut as he won the NWA United States Championship twice this year, defeating Sgt. Slaughter in May, and again in August. He would hold the championship for the majority of 82.

5. Greg Valentine

Valentine, still a top contender for the World Heavyweight Championship against Bob Backlund, would jump ship to the NWA, where he would have immediate success in winning the United States Championship over Wahoo McDaniel.

4. Dusty Rhodes

One of the few years where Rhodes was not the NWA World Heavyweight Champion, though he was still Flair’s top contender for the championship throughout the year.

3. Nick Bockwinkle

With the exception of about a month and a half, Bockwinkle was the AWA World Heavyweight Champion throughout the entire year of 1982. He did lose the championship on December 27th, 1982, but still that counts.

2. Bob Backlund

Not too much to say about Backlund. he was once again wire to wire as the WWF Champion, had it not be for this next wrestler, he probably would have three peated.

1. Ric Flair

Get used to this. Flair was the NWA World Champion from the start of 1982 all the way to the end of 1982. Only one loss all year as Jack Venano defeated Flair for the title in the Dominican Republic, however the title change was reversed as Venano would not defend the title outside of the D.R. Flair technically was champion all year round.

Tiny URL for this post:



About Stephan 594 Articles
I specialize in Baseball, and Politics. Follow me on Twitter @StephanHall or find me on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/stephan.hall.10. Feel free to ask me any questions regarding these subjects, and I will be glad to answer your question on this site.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.