Pounding 7’s

Hey there wrestling fans, welcome to another edition of Pounding 7’s. This week I will countdown a difficult one, because Im probably wrong, but there may only be seven or eight of these men who have achieved this accomplishment. This is the top seven wrestlers who won both the WCW and WWE Championship. I have purposely excluded the WCW Champions who won the title while wrestling for the WWE as part of the merger of the two companies. So Chris Jericho, The Rock, and Kurt Angle are excluded from this list for that very reason.

Lets get to the countdown.

Honorable Mention

Sid Vicious

Sid debuted in the WCW, and was unsuccessful at winning the championship on his first stay. He jumped over to the WWE, where in 1996, he won his first ever World Championship when he defeated Shawn Michaels at Survivor Series. Later on that decade in 1999, Sid won his first of two WCW World Heavyweight Championships, making him a two time WWE and a two time WCW Champion in his career.

7. Kevin Nash

Kevin Nash came into the WCW as a member of the feared (sarcasm) tag team the Master Blaster as Master Blaster Steele. He dawned two other gimmicks Oz, and Vinnie Vegas before coming over as Shawn Michaels’ bodyguard in 1994. He would make waves quickly in the WWE as he won the WWF Championship, defeating Bob Backlund. He held the title for nearly a year. He then would go back to WCW in 1996 as part of the NWO, and would be the first man ever to pin Goldberg’s shoulders to the mat to win the WCW title at Starcade 1998. He would win the title on two more occasions.

6. Goldberg

When Goldberg came into the WCW he was a house of fire, winning his first 175 matches. His first World title in WCW came when he shocked the world, defeating Hulk Hogan on an episode of Monday Nitro in 1998. Goldberg would move over to WWE after the buyout by Vince McMahon, and would enter into a feud with Triple H. He would win the title against Triple H in September 2003, and would only hold the title for a couple of months. He would be out of action for thirteen years then returned to capture his second WWE Championship, this time the Universal title, defeating Kevin Owens.

5. Booker T

Booker T was a member of prominent tag team Harlem Heat where for the first part of his career, he was a multiple time Tag team champion. He would shock the world at Bash at the Beach 2000, when he defeated Jeff Jarrett in an impromptu match to win his first of five WCW Championships. He would move over to the WWE after Vince McMahon bought out WCW as the WCW Champion, and would hold that title for several months in the WWE. It would not be for a few years later, when Booker, then known as King Booker, would win his first WWE Championship, when he defeated Rey Mysterio.

4. Randy Savage

Macho Man Randy Savage was a mainstay in the World Wrestling Federation in the mid 80’s. After Hulk Hogan lost the title to Andre the Giant after suspicious circumstances. A tournament was held at Wrestlemania IV, where Savage defeated four other men to win the tournament, and his first of two WWF Championships. In 1994, Savage joined WCW, and by the end of 1995, Savage won the first ever World War 3 Sixty man battle royal to win the WCW Championship. His first of four reigns being WCW Champion.

3. Bret Hart

Bret Hart, the excellence of execution. The best there is, was, and ever will be. Hart won his first WWF Championship in a massive upset defeating Ric Flair in his home country in 1992. He would go on to win the championship on five different occasions. Bret, woudl jump ship to WCW after the Montreal Screwjob in 1997, and would quickly become a main event player. He would win his first WCW Championship at Mayhem 1999, defeating Chris Benoit in the tournament finals to crown a new WCW Champion. He would win the WCW title twice in his career, making his total reign at 7 world titles.

2. Hulk Hogan

As much as I despise Puke-a-mania, and Hulk Hogan. I have to add him to this list. Hogan won his first championship when he defeated the Iron Sheik in 1984 at Madison Square Garden. Hogan would hold the championship for over four years before dropping it in 1988. Hogan would win the championship on five other occasions, and even upon his return to the WWE in 2001, when he beat Triple H to win the Undisputed Championship, his last championship reign. Rewind for a moment, Hogan would join World Championship Wrestling in 1994, and in his first match in WCW, he defeated Ric Flair to win his first of four WCW Championships. Hogan was consistently in the championship picture for sixteen years.

1. Ric Flair

The Nature Boy Ric Flair was involved in the championship picture in the NWA and WCW from the late seventies, all the way to the year 2000 when he won his sixteenth championship. He won his first title in 1978 when he defeated Dusty Rhodes. After 1983, Flair would be in the World title scene for the next seven years in the NWA and WCW. He would join WWF in 1991, after being let go by WCW by Jim Herd. He would do the impossible and won the 1992 Royal Rumble and won his first WWF Championship. He would win the title once more in the WWE in 1992, before leaving for WCW once again, where again he had a dominant run. As I stated, he would win his final championship, a weeks reign, when he beat Jeff Jarrett on an episode of Nitro.

Tiny URL for this post:



About Stephan 594 Articles
I specialize in Baseball, and Politics. Follow me on Twitter @StephanHall or find me on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/stephan.hall.10. Feel free to ask me any questions regarding these subjects, and I will be glad to answer your question on this site.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.