Pounding 7’s

Hello again wrestling fans, welcome to another edition of Pounding 7’s. This week I will countdown for you the Top 7 Royal Rumble Winners. The Royal Rumble is right around the corner and it is only fitting to countdown the Royal Rumble winners. Lets not waste any time, and lets get to the countdown.

Logo Ask7Pound

Evan from Santa Fe New Mexico chimes in this week.

Why was Andre the Giant never given a solid run as the World Championship? I know he had that one 3 minute run, but with as popular as he was, I never got why he never was champion.

I guess I could answer this by simply summing up that Andre never needed the championship, as he was already a dominant figure in the wrestling industry. He was the guy who just went out there and took care of business, and really didnt care if he had a title or not. Im sure that if Andre had told the uppers that he wanted a shot at being the champion. He would have gotten the opportunity. Back in the late 70’s and early 80’s. There were not a lot of wrestlers who could really stand up to Andre, and make it a good match, so it could also have been that he was not marketable enough to sell out arenas. I don’t think that is the case, but still it could have been an underlining issue. When the WWE finally decided it was time to give him a run. Andre was in failing health, and had serious back and knee problems, so holding the championship really was not in the cards for Andre at that time. Little known fact, but Andre was actually supposed to defeat Hogan at Wrestlemania III, and hold the title all the way until Wrestlemania IV, where Hogan would face Andre again and win the title back. While they did face each other on both shows, it was not for the championship, as Andre defeated Hogan a few months prior to Wrestlemania IV, only to surrender the title to Ted Dibiase, when the title was ultimately held up for the tournament at Wrestlemania IV. So there was a time where it was going to happen, but there was really no interest on either party to make it happen, until it was too late.



Bret Hart was considered to be the best there is, was, and ever will be. Throughout the 90’s, Bret Hart was one of the most popular superstars in the business. After his loss at Wrestlemania XII to Shawn Michaels in the Iron Man match, Bret took a hiatus, and upon his return in November at the Survivor Series. He faced off against Stone Cold Steve Austin. He won the match, and he still was considered a fan favorite. Over the next few months, Bret would eventually capture the WWE Championship again in a Fatal Four way match, only to drop the championship to Sid the next night on Raw. In his championship rematch, he nearly recaptured the title, but due to outside interference by Austin and the Undertaker, Bret lost the match. After the match, he called out Vince McMahon on LIVE TV, unedited, and trust me, he had a few choice words to say to the chairman. He was then placed in an I Quit match at Wrestlemania XIII against Austin. Austin passed out in the sharpshooter, and the match was stopped. Bret then continued to attack an already incapacitated Austin, before being stopped by Ken Shamrock. The crowd booed Bret for the first time in years. Two weeks later on Raw, he reached out to his brother Owen, who he had feuded with for the past three years, and his brother in law the British Bulldog, and reformed the Hart Foundation. They were major heels in the United States, but still fan favorites in Canada.


Pounding 7s Logo 200

Here is the countdown for the top 7 Royal Rumble winners.

Honorable Mention

Triple H- Another two time winner. Triple H made a surprise appearance at last years Royal Rumble to win the WWE Championship when he eliminated Roman Reigns, who is the only one to lose the title in the Royal Rumble match.

Vince McMahon- Maybe the most undeserving of all the Rumble winners? Maybe, but the chairman can still stake claim that he is a Royal Rumble winner, the only hiccup in the Austin campaign to three peat.

John Cena- A two time winner, John Cena made a surprise return to the WWE, entering in at #30, shocking every remaining participant, to win the Rumble match. Then he would go on to win the WWE Championship at Wrestlemania.


7.Ric Flair- In my personal favorite Royal Rumble match, Ric Flair enters in at #3 and wins the Royal Rumble to become the WWF Champion. It was the first of only two times the World Title was defended in the Royal Rumble.

6.Hacksaw Jim Duggan- While not the most impressive win, and only in a 20 man Rumble. I cant leave off the first ever winner in Royal Rumble history.

5.Chris Benoit- Uh oh, did I say the kiss of death? Yeah I said Benoit. He entered in at #1 and won the Rumble in 2004. He would also go on to win his first and only World Championship when he defeated Triple H and Shawn Michaels at Wrestlemania XX.

4.Rey Mysterio Jr.- The record holder for longest time in the Royal Rumble. Mysterio also entered near the start of the Rumble to win it, he would also go on to win the WWE Championship at Wrestlemania.

3.Hulk Hogan- The first back to back winnner in 1990 and 1991, Hogan was also in the final three in 1992, which was of course won by Ric Flair.

2.Shawn Michaels- Shawn Michaels was the first wrestler to enter in at #1 and win the Royal Rumble in 1995. He repeated his performance by winning the Rumble again in 1996 before winning the WWF title that Wrestlemania.

1.Stone Cold Steve Austin- Austin is the only three time winner of the Royal Rumble, winning in three out of four years, from 1997 to 2000. Austin was made famous in the 1997 Rumble, when he seemed to eliminate everyone in his path.

Tiny URL for this post:



About Stephan 593 Articles
I specialize in Baseball, and Politics. Follow me on Twitter @StephanHall or find me on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/stephan.hall.10. Feel free to ask me any questions regarding these subjects, and I will be glad to answer your question on this site.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.